Event Interviews http://kios.org en NPR's Scott Simon to Speak at Creighton http://kios.org/post/nprs-scott-simon-speak-creighton <p>Peabody-Award-winning journalist and host of NPR’s Weekend Edition Saturday, Scott Simon, will be the keynote speaker for Creighton University's Ross Horning Lecture on April 15.</p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 18:42:13 +0000 Michael Lyon 27665 at http://kios.org NPR's Scott Simon to Speak at Creighton Omaha's Alexander Payne the subject of a new book by a local author http://kios.org/post/omahas-alexander-payne-subject-new-book-local-author <p>As Alexander Payne returns to the state to film <em>Nebraska</em>, his next movie, a new book by Omaha author-journalist Leo Adam Biga provides a revealing look at the emergence and development of Omaha's favorite film director. Omaha Public Radio's Michael Lyon spoke with Biga about his new book.</p><p></p> Mon, 19 Nov 2012 14:15:37 +0000 Michael Lyon 22170 at http://kios.org Omaha Symphony’s New Music Symposium Concert http://kios.org/post/omaha-symphony-s-new-music-symposium-concert <p>The <a href="http://www.omahasymphony.org/edu_contact.asp">Omaha Symphony&#39;s</a><a href="http://www.omahasymphony.org/edu_contact.asp"> New Music Symposium</a> called for scores for original works for chamber orchestra. Four young composers were selected to participate, working with Pulitzer Prize and Grammy-award winning composer <a href="http://williambolcom.com">William&nbsp;Bolcom</a> and other faculty over the course of three days to refine and rework their original compositions. Fri, 01 Jun 2012 15:46:11 +0000 Michael Lyon 13857 at http://kios.org Omaha Symphony’s New Music Symposium Concert IMMUNIZE NEBRASKA Ninth Annual Immunization Conference http://kios.org/post/immunize-nebraska-ninth-annual-immunization-conference <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 14:37:34 +0000 Michael Lyon 13703 at http://kios.org IMMUNIZE NEBRASKA Ninth Annual Immunization Conference Hairspray at the Playhouse http://kios.org/post/hairspray-playhouse-0 <p>The <a href="http://www.omahaplayhouse.com/">Omaha Community Playhouse</a>&#39;s production of Hairspray is a&nbsp;light-hearted flashback to the 1960&#39;s that redefines beauty, as a girl with bigger aspirations becomes the newest local TV star.&nbsp;The Broadway production won 8 Tony awards out of 13 nominations. &nbsp;Music director, Jim Boggess, talks about the&nbsp;The Playhouse&#39;s&nbsp;production, which runs May 25 through June 4.</p><p>For more information and tickets, <a href="https://www.ticketomaha.com/productions/Hairspray">click here</a>.</p> Thu, 24 May 2012 15:31:33 +0000 Michael Lyon 13456 at http://kios.org Hairspray at the Playhouse Baroque Fireworks from the Omaha Symphony http://kios.org/post/baroque-fireworks-omaha-symphony <p>The <a href="http://www.omahasymphony.org">Omaha Symphony</a> performs Baroque Fireworks this Saturday. The program includes staples of the&nbsp;Baroque repertoire, including Bach&#39;s Brandenburg Concerto No. 5, Pachelbel&#39;s Canon in D, and Handel&#39;s Royal Fireworks Music, selections that have almost universal familiarity. Fri, 11 May 2012 16:15:41 +0000 Michael Lyon 12793 at http://kios.org Baroque Fireworks from the Omaha Symphony Bill Cosby comes to Omaha http://kios.org/post/bill-cosby-comes-omaha <p>Bill Cosby&#39;s career spans five decades and virtually all media, remarkable accomplishments for a kid who emerged from humble beginnings in a Philly project. Cosby brought his stand-up show to Omaha&rsquo;s Orpheum Theater last Sunday for a matinee show.&nbsp; Omaha Public Radio&rsquo;s Michael Lyon talked to the comedian by phone prior to his visit to Omaha.</p> Tue, 08 May 2012 01:21:21 +0000 Michael Lyon 12573 at http://kios.org Bill Cosby comes to Omaha Nebraska's 3rd Annual Lymphomathon http://kios.org/post/nebraskas-3rd-annual-lymphomathon <p>Nebraska&rsquo;s 3rd Lymphomathon 5K walk will be held Saturday, April 28, at <a href="http://nebraskastateparks.reserveamerica.com/campgroundDetails.do?topTableIndex=CampingSpot&amp;contractCode=ne&amp;parkCode=0273">&nbsp;Mahoney State Park</a>. &nbsp;Proceeds&nbsp;will go to fund research and patient education. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 20 Apr 2012 14:46:55 +0000 Michael Lyon 11680 at http://kios.org Nebraska's 3rd Annual Lymphomathon