Shereen Marisol Meraji http://kios.org en 'Do The Right Thing' Celebrates Its 25th Anniversary http://kios.org/post/do-right-thing-celebrates-its-25th-anniversary Spike Lee's <em>Do the Right Thing</em> was hotly anticipated when it was released 25 years ago.<p>The film about racial tension reaches a boiling point on a scorching summer day in Brooklyn.<em> </em>All the action takes place on one block in Bedford-Stuyvesant, one of the poorest neighborhoods in New York City; a block where African-Americans and Puerto Ricans live, Koreans and Italians work and the New York Police Department plays dirty.<p><em>Do the Right Thing</em> would go on to be nominated for an Oscar for best original screenplay, where it ultimately lost out to <em>Dead Poets Society Mon, 30 Jun 2014 10:53:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 49463 at http://kios.org 'Do The Right Thing' Celebrates Its 25th Anniversary Bathrobes And Baby Carriers: The Stuff Of Manliness? http://kios.org/post/bathrobes-and-baby-carriers-stuff-manliness This summer, <em>All Things Considered</em> is looking at the lives of <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a> and how things have changed — or haven't. Part of that is redefining masculinity, so the show asked me to ask guys about the stuff they equate with manliness today. (Submit your own stories in the <a href="#form">form below</a>.)<p>I started my very unscientific investigation on a Friday night at a Washington, D.C., barbershop. Fresh Cut owner Bernard Fernandez chose his Buick. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 49388 at http://kios.org Bathrobes And Baby Carriers: The Stuff Of Manliness? A View On The World Cup, Seen From An LA Bar On A Midweek Morning http://kios.org/post/view-world-cup-seen-la-bar-midweek-morning Fans of the U.S. soccer team gathered across the country to watch Thursday's World Cup match against Germany. More than a thousand people watched the game at Dupont Circle in Washington, D.C., and many others filled Grant Park in Chicago. Meanwhile, NPR's Shereen Marisol Meraji was with fans in Los Angeles, and she offers some of their reactions. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 20:44:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 49343 at http://kios.org In LA, Barbers Cut Hair And Check Blood Pressure http://kios.org/post/la-barbers-cut-hair-and-check-blood-pressure A Los Angeles doctor is training barbers to check their customers for high blood pressure. He's targeting the social hubs for black men because of the health risks associated with hypertension. Sun, 22 Jun 2014 12:01:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 49081 at http://kios.org For These Inner-City Dads, Fatherhood Comes With Homework http://kios.org/post/these-inner-city-dads-fatherhood-comes-homework About two dozen dads — all African-Americans, ranging in age from their early 20s to late 40s — are standing in a circle participating in a call-and-response exercise:<p><blockquote><p>Call: You done broke them chains.<br /> Response: From my body and my brain!<br /> Call: But you was deaf, dumb and blind. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 48679 at http://kios.org For These Inner-City Dads, Fatherhood Comes With Homework Honored Puerto Rican Army Unit Made A Name For Itself In Korean War http://kios.org/post/honored-puerto-rican-army-unit-made-name-itself-korean-war Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>They fought for the U.S. and countered ethnic stereotypes in the process. Today, President Obama honored the Puerto Rican soldiers of the 65th Infantry Regiment. The president signed legislation recognizing the veterans for their military valor. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 48497 at http://kios.org Before 'Brown V. Board,' Mendez Fought California's Segregated Schools http://kios.org/post/brown-v-board-mendez-fought-californias-segregated-schools Sylvia Mendez says the only reason she wanted to go to an all-white school in California's Westminster District in the 1940s was because of its beautiful playground. The school that she and other Latino students were forced to attend didn't have monkey bars or swings.<p>"I was 9 years old," she says. "I just thought my parents wanted us to go to the nice-looking school."<p>But her parents, Gonzalo and Felicitas, were fighting for integration. Seven years before the Supreme Court's landmark decision in <em>Brown v. Fri, 16 May 2014 07:39:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 47260 at http://kios.org Before 'Brown V. Board,' Mendez Fought California's Segregated Schools Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest http://kios.org/post/lending-circles-help-latinas-pay-bills-and-invest <em>As part of its Changing Lives of Women series, </em>Morning Edition<em> is exploring women and their relationship with money: saving, purchasing and investing for themselves and their families. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:05:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 45031 at http://kios.org Lending Circles Help Latinas Pay Bills And Invest Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do http://kios.org/post/why-chaucer-said-ax-instead-ask-and-why-some-still-do <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0aB-f_pHfs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHZwOqLrF2M</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7E-aoXLZGY</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 21:21:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 39729 at http://kios.org Why Chaucer Said 'Ax' Instead Of 'Ask,' And Why Some Still Do An East L.A. Football Rivalry, Unchanged For 79 Years http://kios.org/post/east-la-football-rivalry-unchanged-79-years An East Los Angeles rivalry has become the largest high school football game west of the Mississippi. The football teams of Garfield High School and Roosevelt High School will meet on the gridiron Friday night for the 79th year. The game is expected to draw 20,000 fans. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 21:06:00 +0000 Shereen Marisol Meraji 38279 at http://kios.org