Cheril Lee http://kios.org en UNO's Community Engagement Center Officially Opens http://kios.org/post/unos-community-engagement-center-officially-opens <p>UNO’s new <a href="http://www.unomaha.edu/community-engagement-center/">Community Engagement Center</a> was completed in March and had its grand opening yesterday.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 45860 at http://kios.org UNO's Community Engagement Center Officially Opens The Bed is Dead Campaign Aimed at Teen Girls http://kios.org/post/bed-dead-campaign-aimed-teen-girls <p><a href="http://www.thebedisdead.org">The Bed is Dead</a> is a social-media based campaign focused on raising awareness among teenagers about the link between indoor tanning and malignant melanoma, the most dangerous of the skin cancers.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 45802 at http://kios.org The Bed is Dead Campaign Aimed at Teen Girls Wildfire Danger Remains Constant in the State http://kios.org/post/wildfire-danger-remains-constant-state <p>Because Nebraska is still experiencing drought conditions, the danger of wildfires remains constant. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 45696 at http://kios.org "The Muslims Are Coming" to Film Streams http://kios.org/post/muslims-are-coming-film-streams <p><a href="http://www.filmstreams.org">Film Streams</a>, in collaboration with Middle East Cultural and Educational Services of Omaha, is presenting a special screening of The Muslims Are Coming tomorrow at 7:00 p.m.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 45357 at http://kios.org "The Muslims Are Coming" to Film Streams Relocating from the Sudan subject of Press Club http://kios.org/post/relocating-sudan-subject-press-club <p>The challenges of relocating from the Sudan was the topic of last month’s Omaha Press Club Noon Forum.</p><p>Guests included Lacey Studnicka from Lutheran Family Services, the largest resettlement organization in the state of Nebraska, as well as refugees Christine Ross and Sabit Boules.&nbsp;</p><p>Ross talked about issues facing women in the South Sudan community.&nbsp;</p><p>Boules talked about the reasons why so many Sudanese refugees choose to live here.&nbsp; He said more Sudanese live in Omaha than anywhere else in the world.</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 45348 at http://kios.org The Nebraska Science Festival Returns http://kios.org/post/nebraska-science-festival-returns <p>The 2<sup>nd</sup> annual <a href="http://www.nescifest.com">Nebraska Science Festival</a> runs April 24<sup>th</sup> through the 27<sup>th</sup> at various venues across the state.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44932 at http://kios.org The Nebraska Science Festival Returns Latest Vital Statistics Report Recently Released http://kios.org/post/latest-vital-statistics-report-recently-released <p><a href="http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/publichealth/Pages/ced_vs.aspx">The 2012 Nebraska Vital Statistics</a> report was released last week. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44844 at http://kios.org Latest Vital Statistics Report Recently Released Loessfest 2014 http://kios.org/post/loessfest-2014 <p><a href="http://www.loessfest.com">Loessfest 2014</a> kicks off Sunday of Memorial Day weekend, May 25<sup>th</sup>.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44840 at http://kios.org Loessfest 2014 Great Plains Theatre Conference Selects 2014 Playwrights http://kios.org/post/great-plains-theatre-conference-selects-2014-playwrights <p><a href="http://www.mccneb.edu/gptc">The Great Plains Theatre Conference</a> recently announced its 2014 Mainstage and PlayLab playwright selections.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44786 at http://kios.org Great Plains Theatre Conference Selects 2014 Playwrights 2014 ICAN Women's Leadership Conference is Focused on Happiness http://kios.org/post/2014-ican-womens-leadership-conference-focused-happiness <p>The <a href="http://www.icanglobal.net/womens_conference_2014">2014 ICAN Women’s Leadership Conference</a> takes place April 9<sup>th</sup> at the Century Link Center.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44742 at http://kios.org 2014 ICAN Women's Leadership Conference is Focused on Happiness