Michael Lyon http://kios.org en Having Our Say: The Delany Sisters' First 100 Years http://kios.org/post/having-our-say-delany-sisters-first-100-years <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>Having Our Say: The Delany Sisters' First 100 Years is a touching, biographical, story that chronicles Bessie and Sadie's Delany’s struggles and triumph<span style="line-height: 1.5;">s over race and gender challenges. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 17:15:03 +0000 Michael Lyon 41815 at http://kios.org Having Our Say: The Delany Sisters' First 100 Years Yuletide concert Friday evening in Omaha features Elisabeth Von Trapp http://kios.org/post/yuletide-concert-friday-evening-omaha-features-elisabeth-von-trapp <p>The granddaughter of the famed Maria and Baron Von Trapp, whose story inspired <em>The Sound of Music,</em><em> </em>performs a Yuletide concert Friday evening at the Holland Center<em>. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 11:47:01 +0000 Michael Lyon 39546 at http://kios.org Fighting Poverty, Hunger and Disease with Clean Water http://kios.org/post/fighting-poverty-hunger-and-disease-clean-water <p>An Omaha-based non-profit is working towards establishing MicroDemocracy and management of natural resources in South Sudan.&nbsp; Sat, 10 Aug 2013 11:16:09 +0000 Michael Lyon 34291 at http://kios.org Symposium focuses on energy costs, conserving resources http://kios.org/post/symposium-focuses-energy-costs-conserving-resources <p>A symposium this Friday in Kearney will cover energy-related education programs and their impact, meeting the needs of low-income energy consumers, and exploring how utilities and consumer outreach organizations can work together to find solutions to the challenges presented by energy costs. Tue, 14 May 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Michael Lyon 29892 at http://kios.org Bike to School Day set for Wednesday http://kios.org/post/bike-school-day-set-wednesday <p><a href="http://www.walkbiketoschool.org">National Bike to School Day</a> celebrates the benefits of daily exercise and safe routes for kids.&nbsp; It takes place this Wednesday across the state.</p><p> Mon, 06 May 2013 11:06:06 +0000 Michael Lyon 29498 at http://kios.org Bike to School Day set for Wednesday NPR's Scott Simon to Speak at Creighton http://kios.org/post/nprs-scott-simon-speak-creighton <p>Peabody-Award-winning journalist and host of NPR’s Weekend Edition Saturday, Scott Simon, will be the keynote speaker for Creighton University's Ross Horning Lecture on April 15.</p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 18:42:13 +0000 Michael Lyon 27665 at http://kios.org NPR's Scott Simon to Speak at Creighton Omaha's Alexander Payne the subject of a new book by a local author http://kios.org/post/omahas-alexander-payne-subject-new-book-local-author <p>As Alexander Payne returns to the state to film <em>Nebraska</em>, his next movie, a new book by Omaha author-journalist Leo Adam Biga provides a revealing look at the emergence and development of Omaha's favorite film director. Omaha Public Radio's Michael Lyon spoke with Biga about his new book.</p><p></p> Mon, 19 Nov 2012 14:15:37 +0000 Michael Lyon 22170 at http://kios.org United Way of the Midlands sets ambitious 2012 goal http://kios.org/post/united-way-midlands-sets-ambitious-2012-goal <p></p><p>United Way of the Midlands has set an ambitious goal to support “The Power of Change,” their fundraising drive over the next two months.&nbsp; They announced the nearly $23.5 million goal and some special, one-time grants at a kickoff event August 29<sup>th</sup>.</p><p> Wed, 05 Sep 2012 15:54:12 +0000 Michael Lyon 18753 at http://kios.org United Way of the Midlands sets ambitious 2012 goal Omaha Symphony’s New Music Symposium Concert http://kios.org/post/omaha-symphony-s-new-music-symposium-concert <p>The <a href="http://www.omahasymphony.org/edu_contact.asp">Omaha Symphony&#39;s</a><a href="http://www.omahasymphony.org/edu_contact.asp"> New Music Symposium</a> called for scores for original works for chamber orchestra. Four young composers were selected to participate, working with Pulitzer Prize and Grammy-award winning composer <a href="http://williambolcom.com">William&nbsp;Bolcom</a> and other faculty over the course of three days to refine and rework their original compositions. Fri, 01 Jun 2012 15:46:11 +0000 Michael Lyon 13857 at http://kios.org Omaha Symphony’s New Music Symposium Concert IMMUNIZE NEBRASKA Ninth Annual Immunization Conference http://kios.org/post/immunize-nebraska-ninth-annual-immunization-conference <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 14:37:34 +0000 Michael Lyon 13703 at http://kios.org IMMUNIZE NEBRASKA Ninth Annual Immunization Conference