Arts http://kios.org en Johnny Carson mural planned for Nebraska hometown http://kios.org/post/johnny-carson-mural-planned-nebraska-hometown <p>NORFOLK, Neb. (AP) — A mural depicting TV talk show legend Johnny Carson will be going up on the side of a downtown building in his Nebraska hometown of Norfolk. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 11:40:40 +0000 Associated Press 45606 at http://kios.org "The Muslims Are Coming" to Film Streams http://kios.org/post/muslims-are-coming-film-streams <p><a href="http://www.filmstreams.org">Film Streams</a>, in collaboration with Middle East Cultural and Educational Services of Omaha, is presenting a special screening of The Muslims Are Coming tomorrow at 7:00 p.m.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 45357 at http://kios.org "The Muslims Are Coming" to Film Streams Great Plains Theatre Conference Selects 2014 Playwrights http://kios.org/post/great-plains-theatre-conference-selects-2014-playwrights <p><a href="http://www.mccneb.edu/gptc">The Great Plains Theatre Conference</a> recently announced its 2014 Mainstage and PlayLab playwright selections.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44786 at http://kios.org Great Plains Theatre Conference Selects 2014 Playwrights Ballet Nebraska Presents "Momentum" http://kios.org/post/ballet-nebraska-presents-momentum <p><a href="http://www.balletnebraska.org">Ballet Nebraska</a> recently received a $20,000 grant from the Iowa West Foundation.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44431 at http://kios.org Ballet Nebraska Presents "Momentum" Maestro Thomas Wilkins Honored with Governor's Arts Award http://kios.org/post/maestro-thomas-wilkins-honored-governors-arts-award <p><a href="http://www.omahasymphony.org">Omaha Symphony</a> Music Director Thomas Wilkins has been named the Governor’s Arts Awards Outstanding Artist of the Year.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44235 at http://kios.org Maestro Thomas Wilkins Honored with Governor's Arts Award Flock House project opens at Omaha's Bemis Center http://kios.org/post/flock-house-project-opens-omahas-bemis-center <p>A project at the <a href="http://www.bemiscenter.org">Bemis Center</a> envisions what it would be like to live or work in a temporary, nine-foot-across, space called a flock house. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Katie Schubert 44313 at http://kios.org Flock House project opens at Omaha's Bemis Center "Growing Cities" focuses on the urban ag movement http://kios.org/post/growing-cities-focuses-urban-ag-movement <p>“Growing Cities” is documentary film that focuses on the burgeoning urban agricultural movement.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 12:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 43761 at http://kios.org "Growing Cities" focuses on the urban ag movement "Lion Ark" focuses on animal rescue http://kios.org/post/lion-ark-focuses-animal-rescue <p>"Lion Ark" is a documentary film about the rescue of 25 African lions from circuses in Bolivia.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 12:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 43706 at http://kios.org "Lion Ark" focuses on animal rescue "Watchers of the Sky" to screen at OFF http://kios.org/post/watchers-sky-screen <p><a href="http://www.watchersofthesky.com">Watchers of the Sky</a> is a full-length documentary that weaves together four stories of remarkable courage and determination.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 12:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 43540 at http://kios.org "Watchers of the Sky" to screen at OFF Omaha Under the Radar http://kios.org/post/omaha-under-radar <p><a href="http://www.undertheradaromaha.com">Omaha Under the Radar</a> is a brand new festival focused on contemporary performance.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 12:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 42803 at http://kios.org Omaha Under the Radar