Youth http://kios.org en Omaha students take peer-to-peer approach to fighting obesity http://kios.org/post/omaha-students-take-peer-peer-approach-fighting-obesity <p>A new program at Omaha’s Northwest High School uses a peer-to-peer approach to target obesity prevention. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 19:47:19 +0000 Katie Knapp Schubert 50944 at http://kios.org New collaboration to address needs, achievement of young black males http://kios.org/post/new-collaboration-address-needs-achievement-young-black-males <p>A new collaboration between the city of Omaha and more than 40 organizations seeks to meet the needs of and improve conditions for young black men. Thu, 15 May 2014 17:50:47 +0000 Katie Knapp Schubert 47227 at http://kios.org New collaboration to address needs, achievement of young black males MMP's Annual Mentoring Summit set for next week http://kios.org/post/mmps-annual-mentoring-summit-set-next-week <p><a href="http://www.mmpomaha.org">Midlands Mentoring Partnership</a> is holding its 5<sup>th</sup> Annual Mentoring Summit and Youth Development Luncheon next Wednesday, March 19<sup>th</sup>.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 44152 at http://kios.org MMP's Annual Mentoring Summit set for next week January is National Mentoring Month http://kios.org/post/january-national-mentoring-month-1 <p>12 organizations are members of Omaha’s Midlands Mentoring Partnership.</p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 20:04:21 +0000 Katie Knapp Schubert 41244 at http://kios.org Iowa Attorney General wants restrictions on sale of e-cigarettes http://kios.org/post/iowa-attorney-general-wants-restrictions-sale-e-cigarettes <div><p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 13px;">CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa (AP) — Attorney General Tom Miller says he wants Iowa lawmakers to ban the sale of electronic cigarettes to minors.</span> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 21:36:14 +0000 Associated Press 38380 at http://kios.org Teen behavior survey results released http://kios.org/post/teen-behavior-survey-results-released <p>Douglas County health officials say more needs to be done to address the mental health needs of teenagers. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 19:41:45 +0000 Katie Knapp Schubert 37924 at http://kios.org Girls, Inc. Omaha Renovates & Expands http://kios.org/post/girls-inc-omaha-renovates-expands <p></p><p><a href="http://www.girlsincomaha.org">Girls, Inc. of Omaha</a> has plans to renovate, as well as add on to its existing building. Mon, 26 Aug 2013 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 34972 at http://kios.org Girls, Inc. Omaha Renovates & Expands The 2013 Kids Count Data Book http://kios.org/post/2013-kids-count-data-book <p>The Annie E. Casey Foundation’s 2013 Kids Count Data Book was released yesterday (Monday). Tue, 25 Jun 2013 21:12:04 +0000 Cheril Lee 32043 at http://kios.org The 2013 Kids Count Data Book Youth Frontiers Teaching Kids Values http://kios.org/post/youth-frontiers-teaching-kids-values <p>Over the last 25 years, <a href="http://www.youthfrontiers.org">Youth Frontiers </a>has worked with over 1.2 million students across the country. Fri, 31 May 2013 10:32:10 +0000 Cheril Lee 30772 at http://kios.org Youth Frontiers Teaching Kids Values Helping Foster Kids Transition Out of the System http://kios.org/post/helping-foster-kids-transition-out-system <p>LB 216 is meant to help youth who age out of foster care receive the transitional support they need. Thu, 30 May 2013 11:06:06 +0000 Cheril Lee 30648 at http://kios.org Helping Foster Kids Transition Out of the System