Other Content http://kios.org en Jazz In The Afternoon Rotation http://kios.org/post/jazz-afternoon-rotation <p><strong><font face="Arial"><font size="2">WEEK OF: July&nbsp; 27, 2014</font></font></strong></p><p><font face="Arial"><font size="2">ARTIST / CD TITLE / RECORD LABEL</font></font></p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 23:00:46 +0000 Chris Cooke 7324 at http://kios.org Jazz In The Afternoon Rotation Last Call Rotation http://kios.org/post/last-call-rotation <p><strong><font face="Arial" size="2"><font size="2">Week Of JULY 27, 2014</font></font></strong></p><p align="left"><font face="Arial" size="2"><b>ARTIST / CD TITLE / RECORD LABEL</b></font></p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 23:00:00 +0000 Chris Cooke 7332 at http://kios.org Last Call Rotation Jazz Calendar (Updated 7 / 27 / 2014) http://kios.org/post/jazz-calendar-updated-7-27-2014 <p><span class="fsl"><wbr /></span></p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 15:00:00 +0000 KIOS 7397 at http://kios.org Jazz Calendar (Updated 7 / 27 / 2014) An Interview With Karrin Allyson http://kios.org/post/interview-karrin-allyson-0 <p><strong>Karrin Allyson</strong>, a jazz vocalist well known to fans of the genre in Omaha, will perform at the legendary Newport Jazz Festival in August.&nbsp; It's another accomplishment for the veteran vocal artist who has been nominated for four Grammy Awards, released 14 recordings and entertained audiences worldwide, including in Omaha, for many years.</p><p>Jazz in the Afternoon host Chris Cooke recently spoke with Karrin Allyson. Click on the link below to hear their conversation. Recording engineer: Mike Hansen/KIOS.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:55:13 +0000 Chris Cooke 50619 at http://kios.org An Interview With Karrin Allyson Omaha Press Club, 7/21/14 http://kios.org/post/omaha-press-club-72114 <p></p><p>OMAHA PRESS CLUB – Lieutanant Ken Kanger, head of the Omaha Police Department’s Gang Unit; Janee Pannkuk, Executive Director of Impact One “Gangs in Omaha”</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:24:23 +0000 Bob Coate 50534 at http://kios.org Omaha Press Club, 7/21/14 Creighton University Lecture, 7/14/14 http://kios.org/post/creighton-university-lecture-71414 <p></p><p>CREIGHTON UNIVERSITY LECTURE – THE SIXTEENTH ANNUAL MICHAEL G. LAWLER LECTURE – Paul Lakeland, Aloysius P. Kelley S. J. Professor of Catholic Studies, and founding Director of the Center for Catholic Studies at Fairfield University in Fairfield, Connecticut “A Short Voyage for a God: The&nbsp; Grace of Creative Writing”</p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 18:36:01 +0000 Bob Coate 50186 at http://kios.org Creighton University Lecture, 7/14/14 College of Saint Mary Lecture, 7/7/14 http://kios.org/post/college-saint-mary-lecture-7714 <p></p><p>COLLEGE OF SAINT MARY GREAT CONVERSATIONS LECTURE – Jenna Blum, author of “The Stormchasers”, “Grand Central”, and “Those Who Save Us”</p><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 18:22:06 +0000 Bob Coate 49819 at http://kios.org College of Saint Mary Lecture, 7/7/14 KIOS BLUES CHART JUNE 2014 http://kios.org/post/kios-blues-chart-june-2014 <p><strong>ARTIST / CD TITLE / RECORD LABEL</strong></p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 03:29:12 +0000 Mike Jacobs 49576 at http://kios.org KIOS BLUES CHART JUNE 2014 Jazz CD of the Month: Gerald Beckett / The Messenger / Summit Records http://kios.org/post/jazz-cd-month-gerald-beckett-messenger-summit-records <p>Flautist <strong>Gerald Beckett</strong> has recorded another fine addition to his growing catalogue as a leader. His fifth release, <em>The Messenger</em>, on Summit Records, features his working quintet burning through hard bop pieces by Lee Morgan, "Aniticlimax", and Bud Powell's "Tempus Fugit". He leads the group on quieter works such as the Duke Pearson line" Idle Moments" and Beckett's own "Sunset Place", co-written with Eugene Pilner. There is also a nice Latin tune on the program titled "Lupe's Ride", written by Sharman Duran, the daughter of guitarist Eddie Duran.<br /> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 22:50:19 +0000 Mike Jacobs 49571 at http://kios.org Jazz CD of the Month: Gerald Beckett / The Messenger / Summit Records Remembering Horace Silver http://kios.org/post/remembering-horace-silver <p>One of the most influential and popular of jazz artists, <strong>Horace Silver</strong>, passed away on June 18 at the age of 85. Born Horace Ward Martin Tavares Silver in Norwalk, CT in 1928, his father was an immigrant from the Cape Verde Islands. The creole rhythms from these islands were to have profound impact upon Silver's music and his successful career.&nbsp;<br /> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 22:45:15 +0000 Rick Erben 49570 at http://kios.org Remembering Horace Silver