2012 College World Series begins Thursday with opening ceremonies

Jun 13, 2012

The NCAA Men’s College World Series begins Thursday in Omaha with opening ceremonies.

It's the second CWS at T-D Ameritrade Park, and the 62nd Series in Omaha. South Carolina won the College World Series in 2010 and 2011. The eight CWS teams have open practices starting at 9:00 a.m. The opening ceremony is at 8:30 p.m. and features members of the U.S. Army Golden Knights Parachute Team.

The first three College World Series were held in Kalamazoo, Michigan, and Wichita, Kansas. The first CWS in Omaha was in 1950.

The first game on Friday starts at 4:00 p.m. and features first-time participant, Stony Brook against No. 2 national seed UCLA. Friday's second game has No. 3 national seed Florida State playing against Arizona at 8:00 p.m.

The doubleheader on Saturday features Arkansas vs. the other first-time participant, Kent State at 4:00 p.m., and No. 1 national seed Florida versus No. 8 national seed and defending national champion South Carolina at 8:00 p.m. 

More information about this year's Series is available at and