Politics & Elections
1:34 pm
Thu May 8, 2014

2014 election: 4 candidates for Nebraska Treasurer

Four candidates are running for Nebraska Treasurer.

The primary election is next Tuesday. Two Republicans are seeking the nomination for Treasurer. Don Stenberg is seeking re-election. He was elected Treasurer in 2010. Stenberg was Nebraska’s Attorney General from 1991 to 2003.

Stenberg faces a primary election challenger in Christopher Costello, who works for the Douglas County Treasurer’s office.

The Republican nominee will face Democratic candidate Michael O’Hara, a professor in UNO’s College of Business Administration. O’Hara is a former OPPD board member.

Libertarian Michael Knebel is also running for Treasurer.