Census figures show 52 percent of Nebraska's residents live in three counties

Omaha, NE – New Census figures show more than half of Nebraska's population lives in three counties.

The Census data was released Wednesday. Nebraska's three largest counties, Douglas, Sarpy and Lancaster, grew by nearly 125,000 residents over the past decade. The state's other 90 counties saw declines in population. Also, Nebraska experienced the most growth in its minority population over the past ten years. The state's Latino population grew 77 percent.

Nebraska lawmakers must re-draw Congressional and state Senate boundaries this session. The Census data shows Nebraska's Third Congressional District, represented by Adrian Smith, lost 9,000 residents since 2000. Parts of the Second Congressional District grew by 68,500 residents during the same time frame. Each Congressional District must have equal population size.

The state's largest cities are Omaha, Lincoln, Bellevue, Grand Island, and Kearney.