FEMA makes home visits

Omaha, NE – Specialists from FEMA have been going door to door in the 12 Nebraska counties that were designated major disaster areas due to flooding.

Cheri Huber, Public Information Officer for FEMA, says homeowners and renters who live in the affected counties and whose properties sustained damage are eligible for individual assistance. Affected counties include Boyd, Burt, Cass, Dakota, Dixon, Douglas, Knox, Sarpy and Washington. Huber says it is important to register with FEMA right away.

"People may be waiting. They may think because their home is still underwater that they have to wait, but that just isn't the case. They need to call and register even if their home is underwater. And also, if they registered when it was underwater, they may need to call back now that they can see it again and reschedule an inspection for their property."

To get more information on program deadlines or to register with FEMA, the phone number is 1-800-621-3362.