Four western Iowa counties declared disaster areas

Omaha, NE – Pottawattamie, Shelby, Harrison and Crawford counties have been declared disaster areas following last week's winter storm.

Iowa Governor Chet Culver issued the emergency disaster declaration Tuesday. Almost 14 inches of snow fell in eastern Pottawattamie County during the two-day snow storm. Parts of Harrison County received up to 17 inches of snow.

Iowa Department of Transportation spokeswoman Dena Gray-Fisher says up to 75 percent of the rural roads in Pottawattamie County are still closed because of snow drifts. DOT is sending additional snowplows, snowblowers and supplies to the four counties.