More than half of Nebraska's population centered in three counties

Omaha, NE – Douglas, Sarpy and Lancaster Counties are home to 52 percent of Nebraska's residents.

That's one finding in a new report from UNO's Center for Public Affairs Research, released Wednesday. Sarpy is the state's fastest growing county, followed by Johnson and Lancaster counties. But the rest of the state only grew by 900-residents from July 2008 to July 2009.

CPAR research coordinator David Drozd says that's concerning because other counties depend on small businesses and schools for their survival. Gage, Otoe, Cass, and Saunders Counties all grew smaller between 2008 and 2009.

Drozd expects a redistricting of the Unicameral after the 2010 Census to favor urban areas. The population changes could also affect Nebraska's second and third Congressional Districts.