Omaha's new Mayor, City Council, School Board members take office Monday

Jun 10, 2013

Nine Omaha Public School board members will be sworn in Monday evening, along with two new Omaha City Council representatives and the city's first woman Mayor.

The nine OPS board members will be sworn-in at 6:30 pm. Their first regularly-scheduled school board meeting is next week. Marian Fey, Justin Wayne, and Sarah Brumfield were re-elected to the board. They'll be joined by six new members.

Omaha's Mayor-elect, Jean Stothert, will be sworn in at 7:30, as will the City Council. Five incumbents were re-elected to the Council. Aimee Melton, an Omaha attorney, and former State Senator Rich Pahls are the new Council members. Pahls was elected to Stothert's District 5 seat. Melton will represent District 7.

Stothert defeated Omaha Mayor Jim Suttle in last month's election. She'll be the first woman to lead the city. Former Douglas County Chief Deputy Marty Bilek will be her Chief of Staff.