Omaha's new Mayor: Jim Suttle

Omaha, NE – Omaha's new Mayor is Jim Suttle. Suttle defeated former Mayor Hal Daub in Tuesday's city election. The two were locked in a close race all evening

In City Council District One, Pete Festersen defeated Sharon Chvala.

Ben Gray defeated incumbent Frank Brown, 57 percent to 42 percent, to win the District two City Council race.

In District Three, Chris Jerram was elected with 52 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Garry Gernandt sailed to a win in District Four, defeating Joseph Velasquez 78 percent to 20 percent.

Jean Stothert will represent District Five after defeating Jon Blumenthal.

In District Six, incumbent Franklin Thompson was re-elected with 56 percent of the vote to Walt Peffer's 42 percent.

Chuck Sigerson ran unopposed in District Seven. Omaha Public Radio will bring you full coverage of the 2009 City election Wednesday during Morning Edition.