Plattsmouth Mayor named to District 2 legislative seat

Omaha, NE – The Mayor of Plattsmouth is Nebraska's new District 2 State Senator.

R. Paul Lambert was sworn in Friday morning. Lambert served as Plattsmouth Mayor for eight years, experience he says will help him in his new position. "Lots of challenges, but I feel that we will face them head on just as we did in Plattsmouth, solving problems is no different whether it's in Plattsmouth or for the state of Nebraska. We will move forward, we will do the right thing, and work for the people who put us here."

Lambert replaces Dave Pankonin of Louisville, who resigned to devote more time to his family business.

Plattsmouth City Council President Mike Bowman will serve as interim Mayor.