Six northeast Nebraska towns look at school consolidation

Oct 25, 2013

LYONS, Neb. (AP) — Six northeastern Nebraska cities are discussing consolidating their school districts into one.

KCAU television reports ( ) the superintendents and school boards in Tekamah, Herman, Lyons, Decatur, Oakland and Craig are beginning to explore the idea.

The six communities have already combined schools. Tekamah-Herman is one district, Lyons-Decatur another and Oakland-Craig a third.

Because of dwindling enrollment, lack of adequate facilities, and difficultly maintain enough money the districts may combine forces into one.

A combined district would place middle and high school students from all of Burt County in one new building. Each town would keep elementary schools.

Three districts agree on building a new school on Highway 32 between Tekamah and Oakland.

Under consideration is the idea of having voters vote on a bond proposal that also authorizes the merger.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.