Some of Douglas County's 179 closed polling places to reopen

Apr 23, 2012

The Douglas County Election Commission will reopen some of the 179 polling places closed prior to this year’s primary election.

Election Commissioner Dave Phipps says the polling places will reopen before the November general election. How many polling places will reopen has yet to be determined. Primary election turnout, along with general election results from the past two presidential elections, will determine which polling places reopen.

Phipps says the decision to reopen some polling places was made following public criticism. He says his office should’ve done a better job notifying voters in areas where polling places were being closed.

Lancaster and Sarpy counties have also closed some of their polling places. Nebraska’s primary election is May 15.