Terry wins re-election to Second Congressional District

Omaha, NE – Nebraska's Second Congressional District will again be represented by Republican Lee Terry.

Unofficial election results show Terry, a six-term Republican, defeated Democrat Tom White by a nearly two-to-one margin. Terry's victory came on a night when Republicans regained control of the U.S. House. He says the election results show voters are unhappy with the status quo.

White campaign spokesman Ian Russell says the results are an indication that voters are frustrated with and distrust both political parties. White called Terry late Tuesday evening to congratulate him.

Iowa Fifth District Congressman Steve King was re-elected to the seat he's held since 2002. Nebraska First District Congressman Jeff Fortenberry and Third District Congressman Adrian Smith also were re-elected to their respective U.S. House seats.

Nebraska Governor Dave Heineman easily won re-election over Democrat challenger Mike Meister. In Iowa, Terry Branstad won the Gubernatorial election over incumbent Democrat Chet Culver.

Nebraska voters also defeated a Constitutional amendment that would have abolished the office of State Treasurer in 2015.