Texas, LSU to play for College World Series title

Omaha, NE – It'll be LSU and Texas in the 2009 College World Series championship.

Both teams won their respective games Friday to advance to the championship, which begins Monday night. Texas and LSU will play each other at least twice in the finals.

The schools have a long history in the College World Series. Texas has won six CWS championships, with the first in 1949 and the latest in 2005. LSU has won five titles, the most recent in 2000.

Numbers from CWS of Omaha show attendance is 271,200 through 12 games. Last year, 330,099 fans attended the Series.