Two former Huskers on All-Star team

Jul 16, 2014

For the first time, there were two former Huskers on Major League Baseball All-Star teams.  But each plays for separate teams: Alex Gordon of the Kansas City Royals for the American League, and Pittsburgh Pirates relief pitcher Tony Watson for the National League.  As Omaha Public Radio’s Greg Echlin reports,  their only letdown is that they didn’t face other.

Google Images

It had been a long time since a major league baseball player born and bred in Nebraska became an All-Star. That is, until outfielder Alex Gordon of the Kansas City Royals was chosen for the American League squad over the weekend. And now, the fun for the Gordon family has only just begun.

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) — Pat Valaika's two-run double gave UCLA some cushion, record-setting closer David Berg survived a rocky ninth inning and UCLA defeated top-seeded North Carolina 4-1 Friday night to move to the championship round of the College World Series.

Greg Echlin

Of the four teams left at the College World Series, only one of them has won it in the past. 

Greg Echlin

When Aaron Slegers took the mound Wednesday night for Indiana at the College World Series, the most often asked question was why at 6-foot-10 he’s playing baseball at Indiana, not basketball.

The history of the Negro Leagues and some of its greatest players are featured in three exhibits that are on display in Omaha.

The theme from the opening round of the College World Series is: Don’t bet on the favorite.

Katie Knapp Schubert / KIOS-FM

Mississippi State and Oregon State will play the first game of the 2013 NCAA Men's College World Series Saturday afternoon.

College World Series preparations underway

May 30, 2013

The 2013 Mens College World Series begins two weeks from Saturday.

End of an era: demolition begins on Rosenblatt Stadium

Jul 25, 2012
Google Images/

Omaha’s longtime home of the College World Series and Omaha Royals baseball is coming down.

Arizona wins 2012 College World Series

Jun 26, 2012
courtesy NCAA

The Arizona Wildcats are the 2012 NCAA College World Series champions.

Arizona beat South Carolina 4-1 Monday night in the second game of the CWS championship.  It's Arizona's first championship since 1986.

South Carolina won the College World Series in 2010 and 2011.


Arizona takes game 1 of College World Series championship

Jun 22, 2012
courtesy NCAA

Game two of the 2012 Mens College World Series is Monday evening in Omaha.

Arizona won game 1 Sunday night, 5-1. The championship is a best-of-three series. If Arizona wins Monday night, they win the championship. If South Carolina wins, the championship will be decided Tuesday night.

South Carolina won the College World Series in 2010 and 2011.

Greg Echlin, KIOS-FM

The day South Carolina clinched its second straight College World Series championship last year, the Omaha Storm Chasers played a day game.  Combined attendance at the two venues reached almost 34,000.  That surpassed attendance numbers in nine cities during a full slate of games in Major League Baseball.  But as good as it sounds for Omaha as a baseball mecca, the Storm Chasers are struggling to grab some attention.

Omaha Storm Chasers have a new owner

Jun 20, 2012
Greg Echlin, KIOS-FM

A day after Berkshire Hathaway CEO Warren Buffett declared, "It's your team," the new owner of the Storm Chasers was in a polo shirt and surveying Werner Park for the Wednesday afternoon home game.

Gary Green formally introduced himself Tuesday as CEO when the news of the Storm Chasers' sale was announced.  Green, who is based in New York, admitted trepidation about being accepted in Omaha.

UCLA Baseball Coach Laments Final Loss in Omaha

Jun 20, 2012
courtesy NCAA

The College World Series is down to five teams after Tuesday night's elimination game at TD Ameritrade Park.  The winning team Tuesday night is well-acclimated to Omaha.

courtesy NCAA

Though one Cinderella team is out at the College World Series, the other one has pulled off an upset.  The Kent State baseball team held off the University of Florida, 5-4, Monday night to remain alive in the double elimination tournament at TD Ameritrade Park.  

In the late game, Arkansas beat South Carolina 2-1. The Gamecocks won the College World Series in 2010 and 2011. 

The NCAA Men’s College World Series begins Thursday in Omaha with opening ceremonies.

It's the second CWS at T-D Ameritrade Park, and the 62nd Series in Omaha. South Carolina won the College World Series in 2010 and 2011. The eight CWS teams have open practices starting at 9:00 a.m. The opening ceremony is at 8:30 p.m. and features members of the U.S. Army Golden Knights Parachute Team.

The first three College World Series were held in Kalamazoo, Michigan, and Wichita, Kansas. The first CWS in Omaha was in 1950.

College World Series begins June 15

May 25, 2012
courtesy NCAA

321,684 people attended the first College World Series at Omaha’s TD Ameritrade Park last year.

The Mens’ College World Series begins June 15. It’ll be the 62nd year of the College World Series in Omaha. This year, the first games begin at 4PM. That’s a change from the usual 1PM start.

photo courtesy

Three exhibits coming to Omaha in May tell the story of the Negro Leagues.

“Discover Greatness” opens May 20th at Conestoga Magnet School in north Omaha. Discover Greatness uses a series of photographs to discuss the history and significant of the Negro Leagues. The exhibit is being presented in partnership with Omaha’s Great Plains Black History Museum, and the Kansas City-based Negro Leagues Baseball Museum.